Snapshots

On this page, you can find an explanation of how to create and manage snapshots in the Cloud Console.

Table of contents

  1. Snapshots page
  2. Create a Snapshot
  3. Delete a Snapshot
  4. Manage Snapshots related to a specific VM

Snapshots page

To get to the Snapshots page on the Homepage you need tot select Storage from the VIRTUAL DATACENTER block and click the Snapshots TAB:

stor

sh1

This action will redirect you to the Snapshots page where you can find all created Snapshots with their HeadersCreate buttonSearch bar and Actions icon which opens a list of available management actions for the selected Snapshot:

sn2

Snapshots headers include:

  • Name: shows the name of the Snapshots;
  • Status: shows in which status Snapshots are;
  • Size: shows Snapshot size. The size of the snapshot is equal to the size of the volume in which this Snapshot was created;
  • Description: shows description to Snapshots;
  • Created at:  shows date when the Snapshots were created.

Actions icon opens the next list of available management actions:

  • Delete - this option is for Snapshot removing.

So, from this page you can:

  • review all created Snapshots;
  • create more Snapshots;
  • delete unnecessery Snapshots;

Create a Snapshot

To create a new Snapshot do the next:

  • go to the Snapshots page and click the CREATE SNAPSHOT icon in the upper left corner: sn3
  • on the next opened Create Snapshot window specify:
    • Name: in this field you set a name for the Snapshot, it can contain only Latin letters (a-z, A-Z), digits (0-9), hyphen (-), underscore (_) and must be at most 255 characters long.;
    • Description: in this field you set a description for the Snapshot, it can include all letters, numbers or symbols and must be no bigger than 255 characters;
    • Volume: in this you need to select volume from what you want to create a Snapshot:

sn4

After fields were specified, click on the CREATE button and the newly created Snapshot will be added to the Snapshots page:

sn3-1

Delete a Snapshot

To delete a Snapshot you need to do the following:

  • identify this unnecessary Snapshot on the Snapshots page;
  • click on the Actions icon  ssh9  and select the Delete in the list of available options;
  • on the next opened Confirmation window confirm the Snapshot deletion:

sn7

After these steps, the selected Snapshot will be deleted.

Manage Snapshots related to a specific VM

To find all Snapshots related to the Virtual Machine you need to do the following:

  • open the Virtual Machine page - on the Homepage select the Virtual Machines from the VIRTUAL DATACENTER block:

virt

  • open the Virtual Machine details page - click on the Name of the corresponding Virtual Machine:

sn05

  • open the Snapshots page of this VM-  click on the SNAPSHOT TAB:

sn4-1

On this page you can find all created Snapshots from the Volumes that was attached to the corresponding VM:

sn6і

As you can see in the screenshot above, we have no Snapshots associated with the Virtual Machine named testVm1.

But, recently we have created a Snapshot named testSn from the Volume named testVol (see instructions - Create a Snapshot) and now if we attach this Volume to our Virtual Machine, it will appear on this page.

To attach Volume you need to do the following:
  • switch to the VOLUMES TAB from theVirtual Machine details page and click the ATTACH VOLUME icon in the upper left corner:
vol2
  • on the opened Attach volume window select the necessary Volumes and click on the ATTACH icon:

vol12


Now, if you switch again to the SNAPSHOTS TAB from theVirtual Machine details page you will see added Snapshots: 

sn8

Now, all the Snapshots created from the Volume named testVol relate to the selected Virtual Machine named testVm1

From this page you can also delete unnecessary Snapshot:  

  • identify this unnecessary Snapshot;
  • click on the Actions icon  ssh9  and select the Delete in the list of available options;
  • on the next opened Confirmation window confirm Snapshot deletion:

sn7

After these steps, the selected Snapshot will be deleted.